18.5.16

a day in HER life - Robin


My days tend to vary depending on the whether I'm at work or home.

I started back to work a month ago, and while it is only three mornings a week, we are all still adjusting to this new schedule in our lives. The biggest adjustment has been leaving my daughter Ramona in the care of someone other than my husband and I. For the first month the drop her off at my mum's in the morning was filled with tears and anxiety, especially knowing she was upset the entire time I was gone - but she has since become much happier and comfortable with the arrangement (phew!).

I teach a busy toddler class, which thankfully makes the morning go by quickly, and before I know it I'm back at my mum's with Ramona glued to my side again. We only own one vehicle, so I spend the day with my mum until my husband finishes work and can pick us up.

My two week days at home have little structure - much like they did when I was on maternity leave for a year. I quickly learned to be very flexible with a baby - we are both happier when we just follow the rhythm of that particular day.


I wake up when Ramona wakes up - usually anywhere between 6:00-7:00 am. My husband lets me lay in bed a little longer while he makes breakfast with Ramona, and then I roll out of bed and get dressed right before he leaves for work.

My goal isn't to get things done on my days at home, to be honest. I'll occasionally do some light tidying, or we'll go out to pick up some groceries, but mostly that time is devoted to Ramona. We play, look at books, listen to music, go the library, occasionally put on a movie.


I try to read, go on social media, or get any small chores done during her mid-morning and afternoon naps. Some days (who am I kidding - most days) I feel like I've achieved nothing, but I have to remind myself that especially when it comes to raising children, not every accomplishment can be seen on the surface.


At the end of the night after dinner, my husband and I play and read books with Ramona on the floor of her nursery, then I nurse her and put her into her crib for the first part of the night (she joins us in our bed when she wakes up about half way through the night).

On Saturday mornings we finish any leftover chores or errands that we didn't have time for during the week - and then we try to do something fun in the afternoon if we aren't too beat from the aforementioned chores and errands. Sundays we usually go to church in the morning and spend the rest of the day doing absolutely nothing at home. Now that the weather is warming up, we try to get outdoors on the weekends and let Ramona explore and experience new things - for example, crawling on grass and the rocky beach on a recent picnic by Lake Ontario.


Thank you Robin, your pictures are gorgeous!

Instagram: @twentyventi

No comments:

Post a Comment