A Day In HER Life - Marilou Côté

Hi my name is Marilou from Sweet Home Marilou. I am 33 years old and I am a mom of a 16-month-old baby boy named Louis-Victor. For the last 6 years, I was a yoga teacher for kids. Mostly working in Montréal area. For now, I am a stay home mom.

It is a privilege for me to witness his "first time" of everything, each day. The first time he walked, the first time he successfully did a puzzle, the first time he ate tomatoes, the first time he tried to make a joke, etc.!

A typical day begins around 5 am, give or take 15 minutes earlier or later. My Louvic is such an early bird. This is clearly one of the things of motherhood that I find the most difficult - waking up early! Each day during breakfast I FaceTime my parents who are living in Québec City, so they can talk to him and see my babe. Living far from them is way more difficult than I imagined since becoming a mom. I would love to have a bit more local help, and I miss them!

When breakfast is finished, we often put some music and dance (hits from 2000, including Beyoncé), he plays with his toys and I start a laundry load. My son is all about the dog, so feeding the dog is THE MORNING ACTIVITY.

Next, nap time! Yay! Finally, mommy’s break! Every morning, I tell myself that I should take a nap too but I never do it. I don’t know a mom who does! This is clearly an urban legend for me that we can sleep while they are! These days, it’s all about taking care of the household chores. I can't believe how much work there is to do to keep a house in order. I really feel that it is a full-time job, and hard one!

I try to take a walk or go jogging twice a week. Playing outside is part of our day, we try to go in the backyard, in the forest or near the lake, two or three times a day. I use this outside time to create wonder, educate, and encourage his creativity. As a stay-home mom, I also have to schedule my activities with my boy. I have the animal day, the music day, the colour day, etc. It’s a way to help me diversify the activities, games and also sometimes, finger paints or playing flute and drum!
I recently bought a leaning tower and it is such a great way for me to include my son in mom work such as cooking the meals.

I think I’m lucky to have such a curious boy and I try to feed this side of him as much as possible. For lunch, I love to try new cafés and I frequently meet friends’ downtown. My boy and his kid's chair booster are almost inseparable! I also have play dates with friends that are mostly on maternity leave or whom I met through Instagram. Networking is TOTALLY a great way to make new friends when you are past 30, with no job colleagues and with a young child! While writing this, all I want to say is that I can't wait for summer to kick in so we’ll play in the pool!

Next, we have dinner and my husband comes back from work. He’s given Louis Victor his bath since he was born. I breastfed my babe for eight months, and bath time was the only pocket of time that my husband had with him at the beginning. This is their special time together  For me, bath time = me time. Finishing my glass of wine, looking at my Instagram feed. After a 14 hour “shift” and I am still on-call, this time is sacred! I read somewhere that stay home moms are worth a $150 000 annual salary! Yeah! Where is my pay check? Ha!

Bedtime is 7pm, though of course he does not always cooperate! We mostly stay home by night, watching Netflix, and every Monday I play improvisation (Who's line is it type) in a Montréal bar. This is my forever activity. Makes me forget all the everyday issues, and laugh a lot! I need creativity in my life, which is why I enjoy documenting our littles family adventures so much. That's it. This is me. A very simple stay home mom, trying to do my best ! Sometimes I fail, sometimes I succeed, but there’s nowhere else I’d rather be.

Meri Beaucoup Marliou!
Instagram - @sweethomemarilou

1 comment:

  1. I enjoyed this article so much! What a charming, authentic mommy! Thank you for sharing your day!