26.5.13

a day in HER life [Tracy]


My name is Tracey. I'm 26 year old, newly engaged with no kids, owner of a puppy named Winston. Moved to Ottawa from Toronto six months ago and am working as a legal assistant in Ottawa's downtown core. Here's my day!

7:30 a.m. - The alarm goes off. It's usually set way too loud so I always wake up in this frantic, startled state, rushing to turn it off. I get up right away. I pride myself on the fact that I've never used the snooze button in my entire life.

8:00 a.m - I typically occupy the bathroom for half an hour, fixing my hair and applying my makeup and then I eat breakfast. I have a new puppy named Winston who is a three month old Miniature Schnauzer. I've had him for a month now so he has changed my typical morning routine. My fiance, who I live with, takes him for a walk around 7:30 a.m. and then I feed him a variety of fresh fruit, yogurt and kibble before making my own breakfast. I swear, most days, his breakfast looks more appetizing than mine.

8:30 a.m. - Now that the brutal Ottawa winter has finally ended, I have started walking to work. I think this is one of the perks of living and working in downtown Ottawa. I can be at work in fifteen minutes, and still have time to grab something at Starbucks. This is a huge contrast to six months ago when I had a forty-five minute subway commute to get to my job in downtown Toronto.

I work from 9:00-5:00 p.m, the stereotypical office worker. I am a legal assistant in one of Ottawa's bigger firms. I work in the tax department for a senior tax partner and it's just as exciting as it sounds. All kidding aside, I do enjoy my job. Most days are so busy that times flies and before I know it's time to clock out and head home.

5:00 p.m. - Although I enjoy my job, once 5:00 p.m. hits I'm out of there! I typically walk home and, if it's a good day, I will stop at the local YMCA to work out. This is another perk of living downtown. I can lift some weights, sweat it out on the treadmill and walk home from the gym in five minutes. There is really no excuse for not going, yet somehow I am pretty good at finding excuses.

6:00 p.m. - I typically shower once I get home and then cook dinner. My fiance will have fed the dog by now and is just waiting for me to feed him. Cooking is not really something I was into before moving in with my fiance six months ago. When I lived alone it was all about what was quick, easy and used the least amount of dishes. I've surprised myself recently with how much I enjoy cooking and trying out new recipes. Pinterest and fellow bloggers are great for providing beginner recipes and also make me look like a regular Gordon Ramsey in the eyes of my fiance.

7:00 p.m. - We have a deal in our household that whoever cooks gets a free pass on cleaning up afterwards. This works out great for me, as I am typically the one who cooks so I can make a huge mess, and then walk away afterwards. The rest of the evening is usually pretty quiet if it is a week night. Since I got engaged a month ago I have been spending most evenings on Pinterest planning my wedding, which is happening next Spring. I also use this time to write blog entries and catch up on the blogs that I follow, as well respond to comments or film a video for my YouTube channel, which is my other hobby.

10:30 p.m. - I like to be in bed around 10:30 p.m. I love my sleep and getting a good night's sleep is a glorious feeling. I know some people think going to bed that early is crazy, but I have never been the kind of person that stays up late and functions well on only a few hours of sleep. This fact probably attributes to the reason why I have never used a snooze button before. After I get my long night of rest, it's time to start another day and do this routine all over again

No comments:

Post a Comment