30.5.13

a day in HER life [Morgan]

Hi everyone, I'm Morgan and I blog over at Me and My House.  I am so excited to be a guest blogger on Our Nest in the City! A bit about me to give you some context, I am a twenty-three year old opera singing newly wed living in the heart of Montréal with my med-student hubby, Sam. In June 2012 we finished six long years of long distance dating when we tied the knot and moved to Montréal soon after.

A day in my life:

6:30am: Wake up! I always have a fun song  to wake up to [or two, because let's be honest who doesn't love pressing snooze] because the honking alarms to make me get up on the wrong side of the bed. This week is has been "Mansard Roof" by Vampire Weekend, followed by "At the End of the Day" from Les Miserables [I love musicals and there is nothing to set my day on the right track than jumping out of bed singing Les Mis, am-I-right?!]

What I look like most mornings... no shame.
7-8am: Shower, breakfast [most often my healthy banana pancakes with flax seed and oatmeal added] and a hot cup o' tea, time in the Word, time with the hubs, then racing to just barely catch the bus to get to school.


8-1: French school. A dreaded but useful part of my day, la course de Francisation and I have a love-hate relationship. I have found my understanding of the language has increased significantly and I can most often understand what people are saying, especially if there is a context for what we are talking about. I do find French school to be tedious and boring because we'll only learn one thing a day followed by spending the proceeding four hours doing exercises or posing fake conversations that I would never engage in yadayadayada and I am surrounded by business men who are learning the language who I have nothing to very little in common with. But at the end of the day I am thrilled to be in a position where I can take a year and learn a new language that will benefit me for the rest of my life. [Not to mention now I can speak to those in Sam's family who speak mostly French!]

1-5pm: This is a good time of the day for me. A few days a week I work as a nanny. But otherwise I am currently purging, organizing and packing our beloved home as we are moving to the Plateau on June 1st. I cannot begin to tell you how excited I am to be living in the Plateau [a very French neighbourhood in Montreal] and living within cry shot of little Lily, Oli and Baby Sister... We will be a mere 10 minute walk from the Emily's home! I am also training for the Montréal Half-Marathon on September 22, so three times a week I reserve time to run and train for it. Usually at around 4 o'clock I will sing, not everyday, but as an opera singer you've gotta practice to keep your chops in peak condition [although practicing has never been one of my favourite things to do... I live to perform, what can I say ;-)]



5-7pm: SAMMY TIME. This is arguably my favourite time of day. Sam gets home from school and I am usually prepping dinner which I find to be very relaxing and fun. We eat and talk, wash dishes together and will take time to cuddle or hang out afterwards before we both get back to work. Sometimes this looks like scrapping dishes to watch Person of Interest or a movie, sometimes it looks like sitting together playing music or working separately on the couch but just being near each other. Either way we try to be intentional about reserving this as time to spend with one another.



7-10:30pm: Unwind, tidy, write, read. At this point Sammy gets back to work and spends his time studying in his office at home. This is usually the time that I will write blog posts and schedule them. I find my heart is full and I have things to say in the evenings rather than the running "to-do" list that the morning brings me. I take time to read blogs and check social media, then I organize what the next day holds for me, brainstorming dinner for the next night and mentally preparing myself for the next day. Then we "routine" aka floss, brush teeth, wash face, moisturize etc and get ready for bed. Sam and I manage to hit the hay at the same time about four times a week but I have also learned that he can function on much less sleep than I can so I sometimes can't wait for him or he has to stay up late studying etc. [I need my eight hours a night or else the "strep throat fairy" comes after me.] Regardless of whether we go to sleep at the same time, he will always come in and tuck me in where we talk about how we are doing and try to take this time to dig deep and get personal. Sometimes it's praying, or a back scratch and a song, sometimes it's reading a chapter from the Valley of Vision or from the Chronicles of Narnia series [which has been a total blast and I highly recommend it to any couple to do! What a way to fall in love with Jesus over and over again, I swear I cry at some point in every chapter.] Then it's off to snooze land to start it all over again.

I am so thrilled to be in the phase of life we are in. Going through medical school can be hard and busy and exhausting for us both at times but after six years of long-distance and only seeing each other once every 4-6 weeks it is so nice to finally have a home together. One day in a few years, we will have kiddos and our lives will change drastically and it will be a welcome change, but for now I am so thankful for our little family of two and our daily routines and rhythms together.

1 comment:

  1. We're a little sad to see another Christian couple leaving St. Henri, but the Plateau could afford a few more, I guess ;) Also, don't forget to send me that training guide!

    ReplyDelete